Tired of seeing irritating posts from your friends? Don’t want to see stupid posts from various groups or pages on your timeline? Well now, you can hit Snooze on groups, pages and friends’ posts that annoy you. Recently, Facebook has added a Snooze button that allows you to unfollow your friends, pages or groups for a specific period of time such as 24 hours, a week or a month.
Sometimes you cannot just block a person completely to avoid seeing their posts. Now you have a solution where you can temporarily hit the Snooze button without disconnecting from them permanently.
This Snooze button was spotted on Facebook’s desktop site in the U.S. The spokesperson from Facebook confirmed to TechCrunch that they are testing new ways to offer control to people over their news feeds.
How to Snooze?
All you have to do is tap on the right top corner of a post. In the dropdown menu, you will find an “Unfollow or Snooze” option. Click on that and you can choose the time period for which you want to Snooze someone or permanently unfollow them.
This feature does benefit pages and groups on Facebook, as now people can just Snooze them for a period of time instead of unfollowing them permanently. The page or group admins have a chance to learn from their marketing mistakes and fix their strategy. They can avoid losing their audience permanently. By monitoring and analyzing the data for the amount of Snoozes they receive, they can learn when to tone down the oversharing or spamming, and stop annoying their audience. It can work as an eye-opener for pages that lose audience because of their bad marketing strategies.
For people, the benefits are obvious. If you’ve annoying uncles, aunts or friends that you cannot unfollow and they keep on spamming your timeline with their posts, you can now just hit the Snooze button!
This news has come just a week after Facebook revealed its “instant videos” feature. According to Facebook, they have just started testing this Snooze feature and it is only available for the US audience for now. The actual global rollout of this feature hasn’t been confirmed yet.